On Duty ...

Discuss concepts of Mandalorian culture and lifestyle here.
Nabterayl
Verd

On Duty ...

Unread post by Nabterayl » 12 Dec 2013 18:09

I'm curious how the forum would render the word duty. I was a little surprised to see that there isn't one in Karen's lexicon (sidebar: casualty of an aborted project, or deliberate omission a la "hero?").

My current leading candidate is ijaa'bora. Thoughts?

Context: I practice German longsword fencing and just ordered my first steel blunt. I am considering getting its blade etched. I majored in ancient Greek as an undergrad, so I've settled on a Greek-style inscription/dedication, but there's a word missing: ner gai cuyi [duty]. I could make it up (and I suppose anything we do in this regard is "made up") but this is special enough to warrant a poll to the community. nu copaani jarile kal be ner cyare munikad.

Also, are the [ newmando ] and [ oldmando ] tags actually functional on this board?

Raeth
Verd

Re: On Duty ...

Unread post by Raeth » 12 Dec 2013 22:45

Disclaimer: I am really new to learning Mando'a, so I would take any answer of mine with a grain of salt.

I would hazard the guess that the 'Resol'nare' (the 'Six Actions') that form the core tenets of Mando'ade culture would be the closest thing to the word 'duty' that I have seen officially published. The Resol'nare would be the cultural duty of any Mando'ade to learn and uphold.

I like your word, which I translate to mean 'honorable job'.

Might I suggest, 'Haatyc'bora'? It would roughly mean 'true job'. 'Be'solyc'bora', on the other hand, would be 'priority job'.

I could see your idea or these other two ideas being analogous to the meaning of 'duty'.

Would love to hear what you decide.
Part father, part artist, part perpetual student, part gamer, part Japan-o-phile, part contrarian, part instigator, part anthropologist, part blacksmith, part costumer, part food lover, part writer, part adventurer, part eccentric...
AN MANDO'AD!

Nabterayl
Verd